London ball

Focus on England’s World Cup final record

England are set to contest their seventh men’s World Cup final, with Pakistan standing in their way in Melbourne on Sunday.

England’s record in the overtime showpieces currently stands at four defeats and two successes and here PA looks at how previous trophies have been won and lost.

1979, lost to West Indies by 92 points

The great Viv Richards put England to the sword at Lord’s (PA Archive)

England reached their first final in the second edition of the men’s World Cup, facing the defending champions and coming up short at Old Trafford. The West Indians made it 286 for nine as Viv Richards cracked 138 and Collis King battled their way to 86. In response, England produced a pedestrian effort as Mike Brearley and Geoffrey Boycott passed a slow century, ushering in a collapse as the required rate spun out of control.

1987, lost to Australia by seven points

A bitter loss in Kolkata long remembered for captain Mike Gatting’s reverse sweep at a key moment in the chase. He and Bill Athey were well placed to hunt down their former rivals’ 253 score when he attempted a move that is now commonplace, but considered a flamboyant gamble at the time.

1992, lost to Pakistan by 22 runs

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan.
Imran Khan has retired from ODI cricket in style (PA Archive)

If England v Pakistan at the MCG with a trophy on the line sounds familiar, then it is. England felt and looked like an elected champion, only to be defeated by a Pakistani side who fought their way to the final in varying states of adversity. Imran Khan topped the score with 72 in what would be his final ODI, while Derek Pringle produced a superb three-for-22. Ian Botham’s duck set the tone for a failed chase, which saw the England dismissed for 227.

2010, beat Australia by seven wickets

England’s first major world title came in the upstart T20 format, snapping their latest misfortune with a crushing victory over their oldest foes in Barbados. Paul Collingwood’s energetic and well-rounded side played clean and hit hard as Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen finished things off in a hurry with 18 balls remaining.

2016, lost to West Indies by four wickets

A game neither Ben Stokes nor Carlos Brathwaite will ever forget. Stepping up to the final of the game with heavy favorites England, Stokes was bludgeoned for four successive sixes as Brathwaite played the cameo of his life to save victory from almost certain defeat. Stokes would go on to have more good days than his winner, but that night at Eden Gardens there was no contest.

2019, beat New Zealand in boundary count

New Zealand v England - ICC World Cup - Final - Lord's
England finally got their hands on the ODI World Cup in 2019 (Nick Potts/PA)

England spent an entire four-year cycle tearing up their outdated white-ball playbook and rebranding themselves as world beaters. Even so, it took the most biting finish imaginable to give them a first-ever ODI world title at Lord’s. This time Stokes was the hero, forcing an unlikely finish that ended in scoring level again and success on a tiebreak technicality.