London ball

QPR lose three-goal friendly lead at Crawley

New QPR boss Mick Beale provided food for thought as his side squandered a 3-0 lead to draw 3-3 at League Two Crawley Town in a pre-season friendly.

Beale named a strong starting line-up, with Seny Dieng, Luke Amos and Chris Willock the only three players missing from a 25-man squad that made the short trip to West Sussex.

New signings Jake Clarke-Salter, Kenneth Paal and Tyler Roberts were all named in a 4-3-2-1 formation before Beale made a flurry of changes in the second half with his side leading 1-0.

Sam Field headed Rangers in front when he glanced into Stefan Johansen’s corner after 10 minutes, with George Thomas Albert Adomah missing good chances to increase Rangers’ advantage before the break.

Beale named a completely different squad for the second half – but kept with a back four – as Conor Masterson operated in an unfamiliar defensive midfield role with Jimmy Dunne and Joe Gubbins operating as centre-backs.

Macauley Bonne, who this week expressed a desire to join boyhood club Ipswich, extended Rangers’ lead shortly after half-time by dispossessing goalkeeper Corey Adai at the edge of the box and curling the ball in in the top corner.

The former Charlton man made it 3-0 on the hour when he fired in a low Mide Shodipo cross only for the home side to score two quick strikes following defensive errors.

The opening goal saw James Tilley hit home a low cross which Dunne failed to clear after Niko Hamalainen failed to manage a routine long ball for former Rangers striker Aramide Oteh.

Three minutes later, Osman Kakay lost the ball on the right and Masterson’s ultimate tackle conceded a penalty which was duly sent in by Tom Nichols.

With tails firmly up, Crawley kept pressing and grabbed an equalizer eight minutes from time with Rangers again in disarray at the back.

Oteh’s shot was blocked by keeper Murphy Mahoney with Manny Adebowale rolling the rebound into the empty net to seal the hosts’ comeback.

QPR first half: Walsh, Adomah, Dickie, Clarke-Salter, Paal, Thomas, Johansen, Field, Chair, Roberts, Dykes.

QPR second half: Mahoney, Kakay, Masterson, Dunne, Hamalainen, Dozzell, Owens, Kelman, Bonne, Shodipo. Gubbins. Substitutes not used: Drewe, Duke-McKennna.